Boston Debate League hosts the New England Urban Debate Championship

On February 7-8, English High School and TechBoston Academy hosted the New England Urban Debate Championship for Boston and Rhode Island high school debaters. On February 8, Tournament 5 was hosted by Timilty Middle School for middle school debaters.

At TechBoston Academy, New Mission/BCLA was the High School to take away the tournament Championship. Boston Latin Academy won second place in the compelling competition. Brighton HS team Richard Davis and Sadiya Gurhan scored to win the Championship title of the Championship division, and JQUS maverick Richard Liang won the Varsity division Championship award. Top speakers from Championship division included Elvis Alvarado of New Mission/BCLA and runner-up Chianne Arthur of Excel High School, and from the Varsity division, Rhode Island debater Elizabeth Heon and runner-up Richard Liang of Josiah Quincy Upper School. The Junior Varsity division team to earn the Champion award was Nikki Gerald and Shameka Reece. Top speakers of the JV division included Joyce Huang of Fenway HS and runner-up Julianne Rudne of Rhode Island. Of the Novice division, Rhode Island team Isaiah Cano and Mercedes Higgins was Champion and students Isaiah Cano of Rhode Island and runner-up Eugene Wu of JQUS ranked 1st and 2nd place for the speaker award. Overall, Boston Public Schools students triumphed at the New England Urban Debate Championship at TechBoston Academy. See full results here.

At English High School, the tournament Champion was home-team English HS, with East Boston HS earning 2nd place honors. In the Varsity Division, Brighton HS team Lorena Lapaz and Julianna Maximo took the Champion title. Additionally, Julianna Maximo came in 2nd place as a top speaker, surpassed only English HS student Curtney Brewster in 1st place. In the JV division, Rhode Island student Cesar Reynoso and East Boston student Reda Darouanou shared the coveted title of Champion as a tie. Darouanou also ranked in 2nd place for the speaker award, but scoring above Darouanou was English HS student Jasmine Rivera who came in 1st. In the Novice division, Brighton HS team Hibo Moallim and Khafia Mohamud scored to win the Championship award. Also worthy of note in the Novice division are 1st and 2nd place speakers, Yesica Garcia-Pineda of Brighton HS and Jonathan Berganza of Charlestown HS. In the JV Spanish division, English HS team Kevin Valenzuela and Christopher Toribio took the Championship title, with Eduardo Bahena of Eastie and Armando Bahena of English ranking in at 1st and 2nd place for the speaker award. For the Novice Spanish division, East Boston High School came in strong with team Anderson Villanueva and Walter Galdamez earning the title of Champion and Glaribel Lora and Alberto Ledesma ranking 1st and 2nd place as top speakers. See full results here.

At Timilty Middle School, home-team Timilty took the 1st place title for Tournament Champion and Spirit Award at Tournament 5. Dever-McCormick MS ranked in 2nd place honors as Tournament Champion. In the JV division, Timilty students continued to score in at the top of the ranks with team India Glenn and Aleia Prentice-Mitchell and team Lanezja Auguste and Stephania Mejia coming in 1st and 2nd place, respectively. Timilty students Elijah Guillomaitre and runner-up Lanezja Auguste ranked in as the top speakers. In the Novice Division, Dever-McCormick MS ranked in as the top teams. Team Arbri Leka and Daniel Austin took 1st place and 2nd place went to team Lisandra Francisco and Keyth Feliciano. Top speakers were Sitnour Elamin representing Clarence Edwards MS and runner-up Arbri Leka of Dever-McCormick MS. See full results here.

Finally, thank you to our coaches, headmasters, and volunteer judges for another enthralling tournament. Winners of the Outstanding Judge Award include Gene Robinson, Aleksandra George, Janet Novak, and Joseph Mosby.

Skip to toolbar