Excel High School Wins the NAUDL National Tournament Qualifier!

16 of the top debaters in Boston gathered this past Saturday, March 10th at the offices of Tarlow, Breed, Hart, and Rodgers P.C. (TBHR) and First American Title Insurance where they hosted the 2nd annual NAUDL National Tournament Qualifier. There, the best team from 9 different Boston Public High Schools competed in a 3-round round robin for an opportunity to have a finals match in Tarlow’s large board room that would determine who would get a set of tickets to the National Association of Urban Debate Leagues’ (NAUDL) National Tournament at Georgetown University in April.

With this added pressure, the tournament could not have been much more competitive; with upsets and close matches abounding, the health of the League has never looked stronger. 3-judge panels decided the fate of these debaters, with veteran BDL judges and volunteer judges from both TBHR and First American, including named partners Mr. Tarlow, Mr. Breed, and Mr. Rodgers, joining together to decide who should represent Boston in Washington D.C. After 3 rounds, it came down to Excel High School’s Lucibele Delgado and Danielle Cadet versus New Mission High School’s Gena and Ted White, who earlier this winter became the first Boston Public School students to ever qualify for the National Forensic League’s National Tournament. After an hour and a half of debate Excel won in a 4-1 decision, sealing a great year for the pair with a trip to the National Tournament, and concluding an exceptional year of debate for the League!

Many thanks are due to both Tarlow, Breed, Hart, and Rodgers and First American Title Insurance for opening up their offices, for offering their time to make this tournament happen, and for being champions of the League! Special thanks are due to Greg Peterson of Tarlow, Breed, Hart, and Rodgers P.C. and to Marie Franco of First American Title Insurance for their extra efforts in coordinating the logistics of this event. In addition, thanks is due to Mr. Edward Tarlow, Mr. Richard Breed III, Mr. William Rodgers, Mr. John Blake Jr., and Mr. Richard Breed IV for judging, presenting awards at the tournament, and for personally championing the students of our League!

Skip to toolbar