Greater Boston Policy Debate @ Needham!!!

Eighteen students from the Boston Debate League couldn’t pass up one last chance to debate the 2010-2011 troop withdrawal topic, travelling to Needham HS this past Saturday to compete in the final Greater Boston Policy Debate League tournament of the year. This hardy bunch brought a range of experience, from past national tournament attendees to first-year debaters making their varsity debut, but all performed admirably and a great time was had by all. Special thanks are due to our Needham HS hosts, particularly head coach PJ Wexler and his support staff, for their work to make sure we were welcome and willingness to host a policy debate tournament at the same time as a major speech competition. Congratulations to Needham’s Caddy Gallagher and Laura Furman for winning the tournament, and to New Mission’s Ted White for taking home the top speaker trophy.

Team Results: ( In order of finish)

  1. Needham HS: Caddy Gallagher and Laura Furman)
  2. New Mission HS: Ted White and Taushawn Tinsley
  3. New Mission HS: Darien Amado and Gena White
  4. Josiah Quincy Upper School: Michael Li and Yue Chen
  5. Excel HS: Lucibel Delgado and Danielle Cadet

Speaker Results: ( In order of finish)

  1. Ted White (New Mission)
  2. Laura Furman (Needham)
  3. Caddy Gallagher (Needham)
  4. Taushawn Tinsley (New Mission)
  5. Vanessa Zamy (Latin Academy)
    Skip to toolbar